1. marked with white, yellow, and black spots.

1.   There are 40 different species of falcons. The most famous one is the Peregrine Falcon for being the fastest bird in the world.

2.   Falcons can be found almost everywhere, except for Antarctica.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

3.   The Falcon is related to the Hawk and Eagle.

4.   Falcons can live in any environment. That means they can live in mountains, deserts, savannahs, and even cities.

5.   Falcons are usually covered in dark brown or grey feathers. Their bodies are also marked with white, yellow, and black spots.

6.   Falcons are known for their pointed wings, sharp talons, and their short, hooked beaks.

7.   Falcons have better eyesight than humans. They can easily spot their prey while flying, and then swoop down to catch them.

8.   A falcon’s sense of hearing is also good. However, it’s not as strong as their sight. Their sense of smell is probably the weakest.

9.   Falcons are diurnal birds. That means they hunt and fly during the day.  

10. Despite their size, Falcons are very strong. They can carry things that are heavier than them and fly for a long time.

11. Falcons have a “tooth” at the end of their beaks. That’s why, unlike other birds, falcons use their beaks instead of their talons as weapons.

12. After eating, Falcons would sometimes spit out the bones and fur they accidentally swallowed while eating their prey.

13. Falcons are carnivores. That means they only eat meat.  While they are not picky eaters, their meals usually consist of rodents, frogs, and fishes.

14. Falcons are solitary creatures. That means they like to be alone. Falcons only meet up with one another when they want to attract mates or start families.

15. Falcons are monogamous. That means they mate for life.

16. Every year, Falcons meet up with their mates and dance together in the sky. The reason they do this is so that they can rebuild their bond.

17. Falcons can build their nests almost anywhere. For example, trees, cliffs, and even skyscrapers.

18. Female falcons are larger than males and can lay 2 to 5 eggs. These eggs can be white, red or brown.

19. Both the male and female falcon takes care of the chicks until they’re big enough to fend for themselves.

20. Falcons can live up to 12 to 20 years in the wild. In captivity, they can live up to 25 years.

21. Even though Falcons are birds of prey, they still have enemies. These enemies are larger birds such as eagles and owls.  

22. Falconry was made when humans discovered how falcons were great hunters. It is a unique sport where humans hunt together with trained birds, specifically falcons. It has a long history and has been around for hundreds of years.