Greenhalghmarina Careertransitionplan

It seems that H has to further evaluate her specific interests to better crystallize a career. Personal and Social History: H was born in Scottsdale, Arizona and is Caucasian. She grew up in Arizona until she was 12 when she moved to Florida. H is currently married and has no children. H has been married for nine months and reports that there are no issues in her marriage. H lives in Tucson, Arizona where she moved six months ago with her husband. H identifies as an atheist but was raised in a Christian household. H works full time as a sales representative from home. H did not report any drug use.

H reported that she drinks alcohol occasionally and uses tobacco products when engaging in alcohol consumption. H reported that she was easily able to relate to others. H also explained that her anxiety often inhibited her from making interpersonal connections. H shared that during middle school she had difficulty making friends but had a small group of close friends and generally was able to blend with peers by high school. Medical and Health History: Physically, H reports constant stomach ailments and acid reflux. When asked how often H suffers from stomach pain she reported at least five times a week.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!


order now

When asked, H has not had any surgeries. Educational Achievement: When H was asked about scholastic achievement she shared that in her first ear of junior high she was inducted into the National Junior Honor Society. Once H was diagnosed with depression and GAD her grades declined. Since, H reports no other educational achievements. Psychological Data: H shared that her only mental diagnoses are generalized anxiety disorder and depression. H denied any suicidal thoughts or self-harm. H is currently prescribed Syntax which she reports is used twice a week, on average.

In junior high H was diagnosed with anorexia as well and is fully recovered. H shared that there is a family history of anorexia and bulimia, drug addiction, alcohol addiction, and depression. Both He’s sisters were diagnosed with bulimia and depression and were addicted to methamphetamine and alcohol. The two sisters have not fully recovered. Personal Interests and Preferences: H reports that she does not have any, “hobbies,” and that she is too busy. When H was further pushed to articulate her interests she said that she enjoys organizing things and her dog.

When H was asked about interest in art, science, and other areas she reported she expressed an interest for mathematics. Conversation with H revealed no additional claimed interests. When asked what H does in her time when she is not working she reported organizing, creating lists and budgets, and maintaining her home. Family Interests and Preferences: H reported wanting children with her husband eventually. When asked, H estimated she would want to start a family at the age of 27. H appeared to value her family life. Upon observing H, there was an overt maternal theme in conversing with her.

Themes of caring for others, being responsible for others, and completing tasks for others was abundant. H shared that she did not want children yet because she felt too much accessibility of caring for her husband and making sure he was happy. It seemed that H felt the home and the happiness of those around her was reliant on her. Community Participation: When H was asked about community participation, she denied any involvement in community services, volunteering, or involvement. Asked H if she was interested in working within her community and she again asserted she was too busy.

Developmental, Daily Living, and Independent Living Skills: H appears to be able to live independently. There are no recorded learning disabilities, developmental disorders, or difficulties. H was alert, aware, and appeared able to focus. The interview was conducted in He’s home which was well maintained. H was well groomed and was able to completely daily living skills independently. Key questions to be addressed for this child For H, the questions addressed where what the short term education goals were and what the long term career goals were.

Informal assessment instruments used The informal assessments used with H were the Career Adapt-Abilities Scale and a Holland Code Career test. Results of informal assessments used The Career Adapt-Abilities scale was administered February 21, 2015. H employed the test independently. He’s scores were as follows: control was the highest with a score of 29, second highest was confidence with a score of 25, third was concern with a score of 18, and last was curiosity with a score of 14. H scoring highest in control was indicative that H will benefit from concrete and organized goal setting.

H has a high ability to want to take initiative in her career choices. In confidence He’s score reflects that she is, perhaps, more trusting in her ability than she had originally thought. H will adapt in her career choice because she believes in her possession of skills to do so. It was predictive that H would score lowest in curiosity and concern. H has expressed that she was not sure of her career interests and the low score in curiosity exhibits that she has not explored her interests and options.

In the same regard, H scored low in concern which is reflective of her admission that she has not yet become involved in her career planning and exploration. In the Holland Code Career Test, H scored highest in the helper profession interests. Second highest was in creating and there was a moderate interest in persuading. When discussed with H, she felt the results accurately presented her Interest base. She has previously mentioned she wanted structure and schedule. This was partially reflected in her moderate interest of persuading which could apply to a leadership or entrepreneurship.

Implications of results of informal assessments When H discussed her feelings about the informal career assessments she expressed interest in the helping professions. H asked if working with animals as a veterinarian or teaching pre-school children would fall into the helper category. When it was confirmed that they did, H appeared interested in furthering her knowledge about the professions. H was asked about her feelings towards schedule and predictability and explained that the careers she was interested in had enough structure and set hours.

When further probed, it seemed that H was actually reluctant to choose a career that had unpredictable hours rather than unpredictable events-which would be likely to occur in a veterinary or teaching setting. The implications of the results are that H had taken a step towards cementing her interests and starting her exploration period. H expressed feelings of relief to have a direction and a starting place for her future planning. Recommended formal instructions The recommended instructions for H were to research both careers either on the internet or from books.

If after research, H was still interested in the two identified careers, she was instructed to set up a visit with both professionals to ask questions and become familiar with the setting. H was encouraged to continue thinking about the two Careers and begin narrowing her interest for one to start implementing educational and vocational goals. After visiting with the two professionals H was then instructed to explore the educational paths or both and see which she felt was most reasonable for her current situation. H was still reluctant about her ability to go through the maturation process and end up in a chosen career.

Alternatives such as veterinarian technician and working at a daycare were discussed. Evidence of sensitivity to gender, cultural issues, etc. H was a non-religious white female. I mostly focused my sensitivity to her gender. H was encouraged to answer questions in the assessments honestly and not how she felt she was supposed to answer. H was asked if she felt limited to a certain career type. H expressed feelings of doubt that she could excel in careers pertaining to numbers, money, and business. This was possibly a reflection of vocational gender norms ingrained in the culture.

The clinician took into consideration that H had future goals of starting a family and stressed the importance of motherhood and home life. He’s value on maternal duties was discussed when timeliness of education and work schedules were discussed. Recommended transition interventions with rationale The recommended transition was for H to cement her area of interest between the newly discovered careers. Once H has decided which route was cost realistic for her situation, He’s first goal identified with the clinician was to enroll in one community college class for general education.

This would be a period for H to become acclimated with the school setting, decide of continuing education is something she wanted, and begin her transition into her chosen career. H is to continue her current job. H suggested that one of her goals should be to volunteer at the animal shelter twice a month. H had said she was interested in this before and felt it would be applicable. The clinician agreed the goal was pertinent to He’s transition into her adult career. A goal for He’s anxiety disorder was also created.

H agreed to begin regularly occurring treatment with a therapist. H discussed feelings of fear that she would not be able to complete any career she chose if she was too anxious to do the work. H was interested in addressing her anxiety disorder with a therapist in conjunction with being in college.